Shops.Students.SnowDays.

Good morning from my new residence where I woke to the morning calls of the nearby roosters.  This is an easy ‘take for granted’ morning – my red Keurig and pod of coffee with fat free, sugar free creamer. I think my first purchase at Nakumatt will be a coffee pot! But enough of my whining. It will be a good day as I know the locations of several coffee shops!

Yesterday was quite productive. In addition to my big move I met with several of the staff in the department I will be working with. We have outlined a number of projects to complete together and will talk more about them as the work progresses. They are wonderful people and it will be good working with them. Yesterday was the first day of classes at their institution. One of the lecturers noted that attendance had been QUITE poor at the first class meeting earlier that morning. So my second ‘take for granted’ is the dependability of my students. I can expect them to be there and attentive (mostly….). I really try not to be boring. We are blessed with some amazing young people. Okay, so maybe I miss being in the midst of the start of the new semester just a bit.

I hear that there may soon be a deep blanket of snow covering my hometown. That I will not miss, unless it is a snow day. I live for the abrupt halt that snow days bring in winter in the midwest! Today should be  sunshine and about 30 degrees centigrade as it has been since arriving. I will let you look up the conversion. :-). Have a good day!

Leave a comment